Author Archives: anja


Gilles reflects on the Worldwide Awards 2017

Gilles Peterson reflects on the biggest and sonically successful Worldwide Awards yet. 

“Not sure where the week went, but I’m sitting here in a Jet Airlines lounge in Mumbai waiting to fly down to Goa having missed my earlier connection. I spent most of yesterday looking for 2 USB keys that somehow hadn’t got lost in my jean pockets, hence an 8 hour flight spent rebooting.

“I have brought records with me but you never quite know what the conditions will be like when you play somewhere new. First up is the GOAT festival in Goa for 2 nights, then up to Summer House Cafe in Mumbai on Sunday, and then a day of Worldwide FM on Monday at Cotton Press Studios with Sarathy Korwar and guests… full on. Then I’m heading down to Cape Town to produce a documentary on the music scene there – a little like the Bristol documentary I did with my ex-Radio 1 producer Dave O’Donnell, who is a master at these things.


“I’ll probably do a gig there too, but next friday I’ll be live again on Worldwide FM. I’m also going to write up a proper review of last Saturday’s Worldwide Awards, another full on session which kicked the year off really well for me. The only annoying thing was that I didn’t get to interview Noname or Jimetta while they were here – but I’ll do that next time they come. The after show party at Jazz Cafe was really good too – great to see Noname in a closer situation. Shouts to Ezra collective and Poppy Adjuda, Hannah Faith and Oscar Jerome.

“I was delighted to hand out Lifetime Achievements to Matthew Herbert and Carleen Anderson who gave us a special ‘what’s going on’ moment on the piano just after the RIP section. We’d laid on a grand piano for Sampha who was meant to have been a surprise guest but unfortunately he fell ill on the day, but Carleen jumped on instead making full use of it – phew. Michael Kiwanuka also made a brilliant guest appearance on the receipt of winning best album and James Zoo won the John Peel award, and also recorded a heavy session at Maida Vale. Thanks to everyone who made it another memorable event.”


Here’s a list of the winners:

Footpatrol Track of the Year: Melanie De Biasio – ‘Blackened Cities’
Album of the Year: Michael Kiwanuka – ‘Love & Hate’
Breakthrough Act: Noname
Session of the Year: Lee Fields
Lifetime Achievement: Carleen Anderson
John Peel Play More Jazz: Jameszoo
Label of the Year: Soundway Records
Lifetime Achievement: Matthew Herbert