Category Archives: International Day

Globe

International Day: Melbourne, LA, Rio, Brussels & London // 01-03-17

Globe

Every Wednesday International Day samples local music scenes from around the world, presented by some friends who have helped put their cities on the map.

This week we’re headed to Melbourne, LA, Rio, Brussels and London.

WW Melbourne with Ennio Styles with Bohjass and Prequel with Harvey Sutherland & CC:Disco

Broadcaster Ennio Styles brings spiritual jazz outfit Bohjass, before producer Prequel invites analogue synthesist and keyboard supremo alongside Australia’s first lady of disco, CC:DISCO! for a four hour session.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

prequel cc harvey

WW LA presented by Jeremy Sole & Jimetta Rose

Jeremy Sole presents ‘Family Values’ with Thalma de Freitas & Laercio de Freitas for a live duet, Jimetta Rose welcomes Fatima and Cameron Graves (West Coast Get Down) into her Garden of Sound, and Stones Throw celebrate a special with Dan Digs and Koreatown Oddity.

Jimetta sass 2 1:25:17

WW Rio: A Point of View with Kassin & Joao

Alexandre Kassin and his musical partner Joao present two hours direct from Rio de Janeiro.

20161108-A-Point-of-View

WW Brussels: Earlybird with Lefto

Weekly show with Lefto, the Brussels based selector and Studio Brussels host.

SONY DSC

WW London with Gilles Peterson

Gilles represents London with two hours live from our HQ.

20161212 Gilles

 

9791651834_ee9e181a01_k

International Day: Brussels, Toronto, Rio, London & LA // 22-02-17

9791651834_ee9e181a01_k

Every Wednesday International Day samples local music scenes from around the world, presented by some friends who have helped put their cities on the map.

This week we turn to Brussels, Toronto, Rio de Janerio, London and Los Angeles.

WW Brussels: Earlybird with Lefto // 10AM-12PM GMT

SONY DSC

Lefto kicks off the day from Belgium with smooth and chilled sounds. Including new music from Henry Wu, Superpoze and Ifan Dafydd.

WW Canada: Toronto special presented by Lexis // 12-4PM GMT

6600180187_b3c5472aa0_b

Lexis (Music Is My Sanctuary) is surveying the Canadian scene and alternating between Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver through a series of shows. This time Lexis travels to Toronto to host a few of the city’s most important artists and music heads for a four hour special.

WW Rio // A Point of View with Kassin & Joao // 4-6PM GMT

20161108 A Point of View

Alexandre Kassin is one of Brazil’s leading producers, having worked as the musical director at the 2016 Rio Paralympics and as a co-producer of Sonzeira. With his musical partner Joao, they present two hours direct from Rio de Janeiro, on the week of carnival.

WW London: Gilles Peterson with John Gómez // 6-8PM GMT

Gomez Photo

London DJ and record collector John Gómez joins Gilles to discuss his new compilation for Music From Memory, Outro Tempo: Electronic and Contemporary Music From Brazil, 1978-1992.
WW LA // 8-2AM GMT

Jimetta sass 1 1:25:17

This week WW LA is live and direct from Bedrock LA, with DJ sets and live performances.

Lineup:

WW LA: Aaron Byrd & Ethio Cali (live) // 8-10PM GMT (12-2PM PST)
WW LA: Andrew Jervis Bandcamp Monthly // 10-11PM GMT (2-3PM PST)
WW LA: Jimetta Rose’s Garden of Sound // 11PM-12AM GMT (3-4PM PST)
WW LA: Steve Napela with Kenny Segal (Live) // 12PM-2AM GMT / (4-6PM PST)

9791651834_ee9e181a01_k

International Day // 15-02-17

Globe

Every Wednesday International Day samples local music scenes from around the world, presented by some friends who have helped put their cities on the map.

Listen back to all of our International Day sessions from the 15 February 2017 below.

WW Brussels: Earlybird presented by Lefto (10AM-12PM GMT) // 11AM-1PM CET

Lefto kicks off the day with a session with Chicago drummer Mikaya McCraven, a tribute to Al Jarreau and new music from Jonwayne, Onra and Clap! Clap! all from his studio in Brussels, Belgium.

WW Istanbul presented by Debora Ipekel (12-4PM GMT) // 3-7PM TRT

Debora Ipekel presents four hours from her Istanbul hometown showcasing fresh talent and local diggers, including Alpman, Mr Zula and Kerem Akdag.


WW Milano: MONO JAZZ presented by Rocco Pandiani & Denis Longhi (4-6PM GMT) // 5-7PM CET

Rocco Pandiani (founder of Right Tempo Records) and Denis Longhi (head of Milan’s Jazz:Re:Found festival) present MONO JAZZ, two hours centred on jazz from the 1950s to the present day.

WW London presented by Gilles Peterson (6-8PM GMT)

Gilles live from our HQ in East London, with Paul Bradshaw, editor of Straight No Chaser, discussing upcoming new releases for the first time in 10 years.

WW LA presented by Jeremy Sole and Jimetta Rose (8PM-2AM GMT) // 12-6PM PST

Jeremy Sole & Jimetta Rose present a weekly six hour broadcast live from LA, this week welcoming Miles Mosley & Tony Austin of the West Coast Get Down, Sudan Archives, and Tommaso Cappellato.