160825_ace_fb_cover

In anticipation for How We Do: LA – a special musical collaboration between WeTransfer, Gilles Peterson and some of L.A’s most exciting musicians – Gilles has put together an hour-long selection celebrating the West Coast past and present.

He touches on the city’s history, with icons like George Duke and Chet Baker, and then how – inspired by the work of Stones Throw, Peanut Butter Wolf and Egon – the club culture stagnation in the 80s and 90s was reinvigorated by Flying Lotus and his Brainfeeder contemporaries. Nowadays L.A is a hub for live and club music alongside Tokyo, Berlin and London and Gilles guides you through some of the key names who have helped put it on the map, from Dam Funk’s G-funk, singersongwriters like Mosey Sumney and Kadhja Bonet, the pioneering Sa-Ra Creative Partners and so much more.

Worldwide FM will be broadcasting live from HowWeDo: LA on  7pm – 2am (PDT) / 3 – 10am (BST) on the 28th – 29th Sep, with pop-up sessions from 11am – 7pm (PDT) / 6pm – 2am (BST) on the 28th, 29th and 30th September. 

Tracklist

Flying Lotus – Do The Astral Plane
George Duke – Someday
Bobby Hutchinson – Ntu
Nite Funk – Don’t Play Games
Sa-Ra Creative Partners – Rosebuds
Moses Sumner – Man on the Moon
Kadhja Bonet – Tears for Lamon
Chet Baker – Do It The Hard Way
Freestyle Fellowship – Inner City Boundaries
Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid
Hiatus Kaiyote – By Fire
Stan Getz & Pharcyde – Runnin’
Miguel Atwood Ferguson – Fall In Love
Miguel Atwood Ferguson – Mezame (For Carlos Nino)
Miguel Atwood Ferguson – Cherubin (Austin Peralta)