Morning Mari* Album of the Week 11-15 February


This week’s Morning Mari* album of the week is ‘Jungle Run’ by Nubiyan Twist, out on the 15th of February on Strut Records on CD, 2LP and digital format.

Now one of the leading lights in the UK’s new generation of soulful, genre-fluid artists, the Leeds-born and now London-based 12-piece collective have created their finest recordings to date, effortlessly weaving together elements of jazz, soul, hip hop, African styles, Latin, dub, hip hop and electronics in a flow of thought-provoking and life-affirming music.

Recorded at the band’s own self-built Henwood Studio in rural Oxfordshire, the album fluidly moves through different voices from the band’s circle. The inimitable, timeless vocals of Nubiya Brandon lead the way on the album’s title track about breaking preconceptions and promoting equality, “Where you from? I’m from wherever I be.” Saxophonist Nick Richards vocals the killer first single from the album about inner turmoil and a search for the truth, ‘Tell It To Me Slowly’ while rising Ghanaian star K.O.G. appears on the Afro jams ‘Basa Basa’ and ‘They Talk’. Percussionist Pilo Adami (Nina Miranda / Afrosamba) voices the infectious bossa-jazz jam ‘Borders’. The band also draft in two African legends for guest duties with the original Afrobeat maestro Tony Allen on ‘Ghosts’ and Ethio jazz pioneer Mulatu Astatke contributing vibes on the sinuous ‘Addis To London’.

The album is another landmark for a band that has been consistently developing their sound since their formation in 2015 at Leeds College Of Music. ”One of the biggest factors in our sound was the exciting music scene in Leeds,’ explains Joe, “from a reggae night called ‘Sub Dub’ to venues playing whacked out experimental jazz.” Since then, the band’s self-titled debut album (2015) and EP ‘Siren Song’ (2016) have become classics in their own right and their live show has become an essential ticket; previous live highlights have included high profile slots at David Byrne’s Meltdown at the South Bank and Glastonbury West Holts.

You can also listen to the 3-hour special Nubiyan Twist show on the 14th of February, 2019 here.


1. Tell It to Me Slowly feat. Nick Richards
2. Jungle Run feat. Nubiya Brandon
3. Basa Basa feat. K.O.G.
4. Brother feat. Nubiya Brandon
5. Addis to London feat. Mulatu Astatke
6. Borders feat. Pilo Adami
7. Permission feat. Nubiya Brandon
8. Ghosts feat. Nick Richards
9. They Talk feat. K.O.G.
10. Sugar Cane feat. Nubiya Brandon

Cover artwork comes from acclaimed designer Marcus Davies and the album is mastered by The Carvery.

Other Posts