Morning Mari* Album of the Week 17-21 September


This week’s Morning Mari* album of the week is Spiral Deluxe – Voodoo Magic out on the 7th of September, 2018 on Axis Records, available on Deluxe LP.

Spiral Deluxe is a collaboration and Electronic Jazz quartet that explores the various spectrums in our music Universe. It’s the meeting of minds of four musicians from different styles and background that dedicate themselves for searching harmonic divine. A musical excursion that discovers the higher level of music consciousness. Each of the four members contributing to make a special joint effort – the meeting of minds from different spectrums of the musical sphere, but if you move in closer to examine how each have modified the way they communicate in order to play with each other, its astonishing because it shows a entirely new platform on how a collaboration can be.

Each plays their instrument un-attached as if any Jazz or Rock band would play together. Each having a vast amount of experience in live and studio projects, this release displays their wealth of skill and musical knowledge that comes from Jazz, Funk, Pop, Gospel, Detroit Techno and all forms of House Music.

“Voodoo Magic” is the result of a 2-day recording session at the famous Studio Ferber in Paris. Most tracks on this release were recorded in one-take recordings to “capture the moment”, which is a vital element to what makes Spiral Deluxe so unique. “Let It Go” was composed by Spiral Deluxe and features even more masterful artistry of the likes of veteran Vocalist Tanya Michelle, with the mix production of the one and only Detroit native producer and DJ Terrence Parker.

Yumiko Ohni joined our synth day special in 2016 and produced an exclusive session track, you can listen here.


A1. E=MC²

B1. Voodoo Magic

B2. The Paris Roulette

C1. Let It Go (original mix)

D1. Let It Go (Terrence Parker mix)


AX-076 “Voodoo Magic” is executively produced by Jeff Mills (Drum machines, drums, percussions), composed by Yumiko Ohno (Moog Synthesizer), Kenji Hino (Bass guitar), Gerald Mitchell (Keyboards) and Jeff Mills. Lyrics for “Let It Go” created by Tanya Michelle.  Back up vocals for “Let It Go (Original Mix)”  by Angel Starr.  Copyright Control. Recorded at Studio Ferber, Paris: Engineer by Guillaume Dujardin. Additional recordings at Studio A, Detroit: Engineer by Todd Fairall.  Post audio enhancement by Steve Kovacs, Chicago.  Photos by Jacob Khrist at Studio Ferber, Paris.  Photo modification by Maude Lebowski.  Design by Yoko Uozumi.

Other Posts