Morning Mari*’s Album of the Week, 12 – 17 Feb


This week on Morning Mari*, we’re celebrating the life and music of Thelonious Monk, via “Thelonious Sphere Monk” a new release from guitarist and composer Tim Conley – aka – MAST.

Joined by a stellar line-up of musicians from L.A.’s jazz scene, MAST reimagines sixteen of Monk’s compositions in celebration of the artist’s 100th birthday. Reflecting Monk’s notoriety as one of jazz’s true great originals, this is not a straightforward tribute – it is itself an innovative work, bridging jazz and electronic music.

Arriving at electronic music via his background in jazz, Tom Conley melds two music worlds often kept at a distance. The result is an inventive reworking of some of Monk’s most acclaimed pieces. “Round Midnight,” “Blue Monk,” “Straight No Chaser,” “Epistrophy” and “Well You Needn’t” become layered with programmed rhythms, electronic keyboards as well as samples of Monk’s own voice. 

MAST will be coming to the UK to perform Thelonious Sphere Monk at the Jazz Cafe on 17th March.

1. Misterioso (reprise)
2. Evidence (feat Jonah Levine, Dan Rosenboom, Gavin Templeton)
3. Bemsha Swing
4. Ask Me Now (feat Brian Marsella)
5. Well You Needn’t (feat Chris Speed)
6. Epistrophy (feat Dan Rosenboom, Gavin Templeton)
7. ‘Round Midnight (feat Brian Marsella)
8. Blue Monk (feat Jason Fraticelli)
9. Oska T
10. Nutty (feat Makaya McCraven, Dan Rosenboom, Gavin Templeton)
11. Straight No Chaser (feat Brian Marsella)
12. Friday the 13th
13. Let’s Cool One (feat Makaya McCraven, Jonah Levine)
14. Pannonica
15.Trinkle Tinkle
16, Misterioso

Tim Conley – Guitar, Bass, Keys, Synths, Drum Programming, Production
Chris Speed- Tenor Sax
Dan Rosenboom- Trumpet
Gavin Templeton- Alto Sax, Bari Sax
Jonah Levine- Trombone
Jason Fraticelli- Upright Bass
Brian Marsella- Piano
Makaya McCraven- Drums
Anwar Marshall- Drums

Other Posts