Brownswood Basement: Gilles Peterson with Khruangbin and Lefto – Pre-Worldwide Awards Special

First broadcast date: 18 January 2018

With the Worldwide Awards on Saturday night, Gilles Peterson presents the Brownswood Basement with DJ sets from Texan trio Khruangbin and Worldwide regular Lefto, in preparation for the Worldwide Awards 2018.

Go back


A global band in the largest sense of the world, Khruangbin takes inspiration from Thai funk to the sounds of Spain and the Middle East, particularly Iran. The music of the dreamy Texan trio is rooted in the deepest waters of world music infused with classic soul, dub and psychedelia. They perform a DJ set in advance of the release of their new album, Con Todo El Mundo, out on 26 January 2017. 


Aside from his weekly Worldwide FM show, Lefto is one of Belgium’s greatest DJs and one of the most important tastemakers Europe has to offer. His ‘gloriously eclectic DJ sets,’ rooted in jazz and hip hop, have been heard in all corners of the globe, from Seoul to San Francisco, alongside his residencies in Amsterdam, Paris and New York. 


Gilles Peterson and Lefto //

Z – Climax One [Sensuous Records]
Sahib Shihab – Please Don’t Leave Me [Chess Records]
Marvin Pontiac, Marc Ribot & John Lurie- Small Car [Strange And Beautiful Music]
Hello Skinny – iDEATH [Brownswood]
Hello Skinny – Coda [Brownswood]
Trem Da Central (Johnny Miller’s Three Sixty Edit) [White Label]
Renata Rosa – Brilhantina [Outro Brasil]
Keysha – Stop It ! [Nirola]
Emilio Santiago – Bananeira [Samba]
The Harden Brothers – Deep Inside Of You [H.B. Productions]
Leroy Hutson – All Because Of You [Acid Jazz]
Pieces Of A Dream – Mt. Airy Groove [Elektra]
Khruangbin – Evan Finds The Third Room [Night Time Stories Ltd.]
Khruangbin – Shades Of Man [Night Time Stories Ltd.]
Yasuaki Shimizu – Semi Tori No Hi [Palto Flats]

Khruangbin //

Hector Lavoe – Periodico De Ayer [Fania Records]
Kassav’ – Lagué Moin [Celluloid]
Jorge Benjor – Rio Babilônia [Jorge Benjor Pérolas]
Bibi Flash – Téléphone Moi [Illusion]
Saâda Bonaire – Invitation [EMI Electrola]
Ahmed Fakroun – Snini [Geographic Sound Archaeology]
Pasteur Lappe – Na Real Sekele Fo Ya [Disques Espérance]
Al Massrieen – Sah [Habibi Funk Records]
Şenay – Kent Yaşamı [Şenay]
Sapna – Pyar Do Pyar Lo [T-Series]
Kay Ishiguro – Banana [BGP Records]
David Marez – Ensename [Manzana]
Khruangbin – Friday Morning [Night Time Stories Ltd.]

Gilles Peterson and Lefto //

Emperors New Clothes – Tears Inside [Acid Jazz]
T. Rex – Golden Belt [Ariola]
Sampology – Untitled [Unreleased]
Andre Solomko – Moonbeach Disco (Dub Version) [Favorite Recordings]
Boncana Maïga – Koyma Hondo [West African Music]
Barbara Roy – If You Want Me [Roy B. Records]
Dolette McDonald – (Xtra) Special [BC Records]
Dr. Mary Sullivan Bain – Do You Know Black History [Backatcha Records]
John Hicks – Ghost Of Yesterday [Theresa Records]
Carter Jefferson – The Rise Of Atlantis [Timeless Muse]

Other Shows

Host Shows