Global Roots: Albert’s Favourites Takeover with Deoke, Scrimshire and Sawa-Manga

First broadcast date: 23 February 2018

Weekly show presenting four hours of the best underground and global selections.

For this weeks show, South London label, production team and studio  Alberts Favourites will be taking over the Global Roots airwaves, with Deoke and Adam Schrimshire in control and a live performance from Sawa-Manga.

Go back

Albert’s Favourites

Albert’s Favourites started as a family based tape compilation for childhood journeys and has now transformed into a south London studio, production team and label. Founded by Albert’s grandson Adam Scrimshire, as well as Johnny Drop and Dave Koor of The Expansions, the brand has gathered multiple releases from each of the creators, with several exciting collaborations.


Dave Koor aka Deoke is a South London record collector, DJ and musican, who’s taste expands across the musical spectrum. From his Jazz Funk trio The Expansions to half of the synth doused duo Modified Man, Deoke is a highly talented musician, Label runner and selector.


Adam Scrimshire has been making music since the age of 14 and is now steeped heavily in the jazz, soul and funk sound of the contemporary scene. With three albums on Wah Wah 45s and his own Allo Love compilation, Scrimshire is a seasoned vocalist, multi instrumentalist and producer for the Albert’s Favourite label.


Sawa-Manga is the joined forces of D’Vo and And Is Phi. The duo explore musical landscapes and story narratives through their expansive production and performances. They take influence from all sides of the globe and solar system to form their unique sound. The pair will be performing a live session of vocal and beat story telling.


Ecué – Salsa En Cinco [Pablo]
Airto – Creek {Columbia Records]
Bill Lawrence – The Pines [GroundUP Music]
Colm K – Beginnings [Tiff’s Joints]
The Mystic Jungle Tribe – Plenilunio [Periodica Records]
Colours That Rise – Voyager [Breaker Breaker]
Zackey Force Funk – RND1 [Hit and Run Records]
NSM – Don’t Say It [Virgin]
Hector Plimmer – Sunshine (Reginald Omas Mamode IV Remix) [Albert’s Favourites]
Akiko Yano – Funamachi-uta Part 1 [Philips]
Olivier St Louis – Dog in Man [Sweet Soul Records]
Kim Weston – Soul On Fire [Volt]
Modified Man – Kingswood Drive [Albert’s Favourite]
Heath Brothers – Smilin’ Billy Suite [Strata East Records]
Compro Oro – Greetings From The Colony [W.E.R.F]
Mad Professor and Jah Shaka – Ecological Dub [Ariwa]
Elsa Hewitt – Snowmilk [Unreleased]
Def Safari – (($)) [Nosconi Recordings]
Steve Spacek – Boo Step [EGLO]
Lay-Far feat Stee Downes – Never Good Enough For You [In-Beet-Ween Music]
Hot Mood – Junkie [Whiskey Pickle Records]
Detroit Swindle – Just Not Normal [Heist Recordings]
Blaze – Get Up (Scrimshaw edit) [Unreleased]
Soulphiction – B3B4URD1 [Lumberjacks in Hell]
Brien – Convertible Woman [Pear Recordings]
Dele Sosimi – You No Fit Touch AM (medlar remix) [Wah Wah 45s]
Ingram – Mi Sabrina Tequana [H&L Records]
Art Webb – Mr Flute [Atlantic]
Michael White – Commin’ From [Impulse]
Dego & Kaidi – Treasure Beach [Sound Signature]
Ola Szmidt – Wrapped (Modified Man remix) [Self-Released]

// Sawa-Manga Live Set //

Dear Earth – Attacked The Church [Wholemeal Music]
Hector Plimmer – Sunshine feat And Is Phi (Emma-Jean Thackray Remix) [Albert’s Favourites]
Fila Brazilia – Slow Light [Tritone]
Jonny Drop – The Looking Glass [Albert’s Favourites]
Moods – Hold Tight [Boogie Angst]
Chairman Maf – Unknown [Unknown]
Jonny Drop – The Game We Play [Unknown]
Les Baxter – Hogin’ Machine [Sidewalk]
N.I.T – Choudiboubidou [Mutant Ninja]
Jooa Donato – Glima de Paqueara [Deckdisc]
The Expansions – Ivory Mountain [Albert’s Favourites]
Marcel Vogel – Dance the Blues Away (Julien Dine Remix) [Strada Records]
Warriors – Destination [Expansion]
flapjack – Hawthorne Blvd [Take Away]
Billy frazier and friends – Billy Who [Biljuma Records]
Modified Man – Vanilla Gorilla [Albert’s Favourites]

Other Shows

Host Shows