now playing Sampology

Global Roots Radio: Thris Tian with Karima F and Dan Shake

First broadcast date: 1 February 2019

Thris Tian hosts Global Roots Radio, a weekly dose of experimental, underground music from across all corners of the globe; with independent music and culture at the core.

Thris is joined by Karima F and Dan Shake in the studio.

Go back


Norwegian-Algerian DJ Karima F cut her teeth in the electronic music scene of Malmö whilst doing a fine arts degree. Upon returning to Oslo in 2013, she took up a weekly residency at the renowned club Jaeger. It was here she developed her style and music collection to the point where international bookings followed. She can be found playing all over Europe, including performances at Panorama Bar, About Blank, Tresor, Golden Pudel, Lost Village Festival and Øyafestivalen.

In 2017 sheestablished Affirmative Action, her quarterly residency at Jaeger, inviting some of her friends to the booth for showcases that bridge that divide across genres and genders in clubland. Together with the Norwegian artist Ida Ekblad, she runs the record label Schloss Records. The first release arrived in 2018, a 12” single by the english producer Max Fowler, with a a remix from the Swedish rising star Samo DJ. In 2019, Karima F will release her debut 12” single on Schloss.

Dan Shake

The London based artist has done what no other has done before him, landing his debut release back in 2014 on Moodymann’s prestigious label Mahogani Music, with no Detroit heritage. This has been followed with numerous self-released records on his label Shake, and Lumberjacks in Hell.

2017 saw Dan truly make his mark on the international stage with high profile
performances around the globe as far afield as Japan and Australia, closing the main stage at Dimensions Festival and playing B2B shows with Jeremy Underground, Jamie 3:26 & Marcellus Pittman to name but a few.


Rymdem – The Celestial Dog and The Funeral Ship [Jazzland Recordings Norway]
Ediz Hafizoglu – Iki Taraf [Kabak & Lin Records]
Makaya McCraven – Lucy In the sky with Diamonds [Unknown]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Opus [Sony Classical]
Rob – Forgive Us All [Essie Bons]
Tariq Disu – PINEAPPLE PLAZA [Tariq Disu]
Tariq Disu – PAUSE [Tariq Disu]
House Shoes – Intergalactic [Unknown]
DJ Raff – Resistencia [Big in Japan Records]
Khalab – Chitita (Heiroglyphic Being’s 8-bit remix) [On The Corner Records]
Quavius – Fa Sho [Lustwerk Music]
Tendts – Cosmic Swimmer [Public Release US]

Dan Shake Mix //

Souleance – Segrados Do Samba [First Word Records]
Twice – The Feeling [Blend It]
J Dilla – Rico Suave Bossa Nova (Dan Shake Cut) [Shake Tapes]
Patchworks – Hunt Ya Sunshine (Moog Instrumental) [Christmas Disco]
Rodney Franklin – The Groove [Columbia]
Di Melo – A Vida Em Seus Metodos Diz Calma [Odeon]
Luke Vilbert – I Love Acid [I Love Acid]
Mr Scruff – Cheeky [Ninja Tune]
Kitty Winter – New Morning (Todd Terry Rework) [TR Records]
Syclops – Monkeypuss [DFA]
Red Axes – Kookoo Papa [Phantasy Sound]
Patchwords Galactic Project Feat. Sabba G – Give My Love [Christmas Disco]
Mark De Clive-Lowe – Twilight [Especial Records]
K15 – Sunbeams [Eglo]
Zogo – Africa (Dan Shakes Disco Dub) [Shake Tapes]

Other Shows

Host Shows