Global Roots Radio: Thris Tian with Sampology

First broadcast date: 18 January 2019

Weekly show with Thris Tian presenting the best underground and global selections.

For this week’s show, Thris will be joined by Sampology for a special mix.


Go back


With an impressive career spanning over a decade, 2018 saw Sampology return with a stunning follow up to his internationally praised 2016 EP Natural Selections. Launching his own Middle Name Records imprint, Sampology released the six-track Mt Glorious EP in August 2018. Picking up whereNatural Selectionsleft off, the relentlessly innovative Brisbane native has continued to evolve as an artist and performer, with Mt Glorious featuring renowned special guests Georgia Ann Muldrow, Dudley Perkins and Jordan Rakei.

Middle Name Dance Tracks Vol 1 in October 2018 was the second release from Sampology’s new imprint. The Middle Name Dance Tracks project reflects standout live & club nights in Sampology’s home town of Brisbane, where the last two years has seen a steady cross pollination between the club and soul/jazz communities. The blurred line between these two musical worlds has delivered an array of diverse and joyful events for both artists and avid music fans.

Keeping the momentum building is the third release on Middle Name Records ‘Blooming in the Streets’ featuring none other than Seven Davis Jr. ‘Blooming in the Streets’ is the first single taken from Sampology’s forthcoming album, due out mid-2019.


Clever Austin – Blue Tongue (feat Jon Bap) [Touching Bass]
Old Paradice – The Essence [Group Bracil]
Los Gaiteros de San Jacinto – Fuego de Cumbia [Smithson Folkways]
Luis Antero – Pastagena Sonoras II [Discrepant]
Branko – Movimento [Enchufada]
Te’Amir – Abyssinia & Abyssinia Rise [Tru Thoughts]
The Cinematic Orchestra – A Caged Bird / Imitations Of Life (feat Roots Manuva) [Ninja Tune]
Nightmares On Wax – Look Up (feat Andrew Ashong & Sadie Walker)
Jean-Pierre Boistel – Dans Le Secret & Clepsydre [Left Ear Records]
Sun Runners – Goddess Is Born [Apron Records]
Ustas Saami – War Song [Glitterbeat Records]
Niels Broos & Jamie Peet – Heist [Super Sonic Jazz Records]
Vula Viel – Well Come [Vula Viel Records]
Nick Walters & The Paradox Ensemble – Brahman [22a Records]
Bambounou – Seize-Sept [Whities]
Aquarian – Ten Years [White Label]
Shante Celeste & Hodge – Alula [PEACH DISCS]
Klein Zage – Absolutely (Ariel Zetina Remix) [SABRE]
Nkisi – I [Non Worldwide]
Bone Head – Busy Body Final [Arcola]
Norken – Fern [Hydrogen Dukebox]
Daniel Savio – Valle A Hjalle [Rush Hour]
ESB – Going Away [Echovolt]
The Maghreban – Effendi [The Maghreban]
Majestika – Furaha [BBE]
Asante – Sabi [Kalita Records]

\\Sampology Guest Mix//
Vulture Street Tape Gang – Celestial Body [VSTG]
Sampology – Smile [Middle Name Records]
Sun Palace – Rude Movements [Barely Breaking Even]
Sampology – Heavens Above [White Label]
Dom Um Romao – Escravos De Jo [Pablo Records]
Johnson Products – Johnson Jumin’ [Sound Of New York, USA]
Explainer – In Parliament They Kickin’ [Semp Music]
Lord Shorty – Sweet Music [Shorty Records The Love Man]
Tera – Everyone Is The Buddha [1002185 Records DK]
TEYMORI – Valley Of Peace [Spinnup]
Sampology & Sam Stosuur & Megan Christensen – Bless [Middle Name Records]
Astro Strugglers – Unreleased [Unreleased]
Atmosfear – Extract [Disorient]
Eliana Pittman – Quem Vai Querer [G.A.M.M.]
Samba 6 – A Musa [WM Brazil]
O MAYPAROPITHE – Greece [White Label]
Sampology Feat. Seven Davis Jr – Blooming In The Streets [Middle Name Records]

Other Shows

Host Shows