KOKOROKO ‐ Worldwide FM



KOKOROKO are a young, London based Afrobeat 8-Piece band led by trumpeter Sheila Maurice-Grey. Inspired by Fela Kuti, Ebo Taylor, Tony Allen and the great sounds that come out of West Africa, they put on a performance to honour the masters that taught them.

For this show, Sheila sits in with 4 other members of the band and reflect on the questions “What music best describes you (upbringing, identity etc) and how you bring it into KOKOROKO?”

Listen now Tracklist

KOKOROKO – Abusey Junction (WWFM Live Session) [Brownswood Recordings]
Fela Kuti – Witchcraft [Knitting Factory Records]
Kaytranada – Your The One [XL Recordings]
Anderson. Paak Feat. ScHoolboy Q – Am I Wrong [Steel Word Entertainment]
Kirk Franklin – Looking For You [Gospocentric]
Ron Kenoly – Mourning Into Dancing [Integrity Music]
Dave Weckl – Island Magic [GRP Records]
Fela Kuti – Egbe Moi (Carry Me) [Knitting Factory]
Kendrick Lamar – For Free? (Interlude) [Aftermath III JV]
Earth, Wind & Fire – Jupiter [Columbia]
Don Blackman – Heart’s Desire [Sumisho Music JP]
Chaka Khan – Coltrane Dreams [Rhino/Warner Bros]
Donald Byrd – Dominoes [Blue Note Records]
Prince – I Would Die 4 U [Rhino/Warner Bros]
Gil Scott-Heron – The Get Out Of The Ghetto Blues [Ace Records]
Lee Morgan – Ceora [Blue Note Records]
Stevie Wonder – Too High [MOTOWN]
Michael Jackson – Baby Be Mine [Epic]
Durrty Goodz – Take Back The Scene (Coki) [Awkward Music]
Anderson. Paak Feat. Kendrick Lamar – Tints [Aftermath/12 Tone Music]
L A V A – Naima [Miroma Music]
Sumochief – Elefant [Sumochief]
The Roots – EVE [Not On Label]
The Pharcyde – Runnin’ [The Bicycle Music Company]
Little Brother – Nighttime Maneuvers [ABB Records]
Lagbaja – Konko Below [Motherlan’]
Fela Kuti – Roforofo Fight [Knitting Factory Records]
Makaya McCraven – The Bounce! [International Anthem]
Moses Boyd – Rye Lane Shuffle [Exodus Records]
Pat Thomas & Kwashibu Area Band – Oye Asem [Strut/Comet Records]
Fela Kuti – No Agreement (Part 2) [Knitting Factory Records]