Worldwide FM Upfront Playlist: January 2018

The Worldwide FM Upfront Playlist is a carefully curated run-down of Gilles’ favourite new music. While Gilles’ Top 10 show reminisces on some favourite moments, the Upfront Playlist looks forward to the tracks that’ll make an impact in the month ahead.

Catch these tracks on rotation in the hour before and after our daily live broadcasts, 9-10AM and 6-7PM on weekdays. Sample some of the music from our upfront playlist on Soundcloud or the Spotify Playlist below, you can also grab the full list at the bottom of the page.

To keep up to date with future Upfront Playlists, follow us on Spotify and Soundcloud.


Al Jarreau – Ain’t No Sunshine [Astan]
Amandra – Dame De Bahia [Obscura]
Anouar Brahem – The Recovered Road to Al-Sham [ECM Records]
Arabian Funk – Arabian Funk Edit [Unknown]
Attarazat Addahabia – Unknown [Habibi Funk Records]
Avalon Emerson – Finally Some Common Ground [Whities]
B1 Hidden Spheres – Sapodila [Fruit Merchant]
Baba Stiltz – Can’t Help It [Studio Barnhus]
Bambooman – Brisk ft. Segilola [Accidental Records]
Bambooman – Strain [Accidental Jnr]
Belbao – Casablanca Shuffle [Habibi Funk Records]
Blue Lab Beats – Pineapple [All Points]
Booker T & the MGs – Melting Pot (LVSL) [White Label]
Call Super – Arpo Sunk [Houndstooth]
Chaka Khan – I Know You, I Live You [East End Music]
Children Of Zeus – Tonight [First Word Records]
Collocutor – The Search (Live and psyched at the Fish Factory) [On The Corner Records]
Darkhouse Family – Modaji Suite [First Word Records]
David Axelrod – Loved Boy [Toy’s Factory]
David Virelles – Erume Kondo [ECM Records]
Deft – Around [1985]
Dego & Kaidi – Decide What You Choose [Sound Signature]
Dego & Kaidi – It’s All For Us [Sound Signature]
Dego & Kaidi – Nyabinghi Warriors [Sound Signature]
Dego & Kaidi – Treasure Beach [Sound Signature]
Deoke – Kamby Version [Tiff’s Joints]
DJ Khalab – Zaire [On The Corner]
DJ Taye – Get It Jukin’ Ft Chuck Ingish [Hyperdub]
Eduardo De La Calle – Mr Dewey D [Unknown]
Elements Of Life feat. Lisa & Cindy – Into My Life [Vega Records]
Emanative – Planet B [White Label]
Ezra Collective – People In Trouble [Enter The Jungle]
Fela Kuti – JJD (Part 1) [Afrodisia]
Fela Kuti – Pansa Pansa [Kalakuta Records]
Glenn Astro & Delfonic – Riddim für die Atzen [Money $ex Records]
GoGo Penguin – Raven [Blue Note]
Gogo Penguin – Unspeakable World [Blue Note]
Hamad Kalkaba – Astadjam Dada Sare [Analog Africa]
Hamad Kalkaba – Lamido [Analog Africa]
Henrik Schwarz – Kantine [Watergate Records]
Herbie Mann – Etagui [Atlantic]
Herbie Mann – Stomp Your Feet (LP Version) [Atlantic]
Herbie Mann – Superman (LP Version) [Atlantic]
Hermeto Pascoal – Dança Do Paje [Far Out]
Hitomi Tohyama – Exotic Yokogao [Columbia]
Hodgy – Best Ideas [White Label]
Innov Gnawa – Baniya [White Label]
Isaac Hayes – Pursuit Of The Pimpmobile [Enterprise]
Jeff Parker – Jrifted [International Anthem]
Joel Culpepper – Woman [White Label]
Jon Hendricks – I’ll Bet You Thought I’d Never Find You [Arista]
Jordan Rakei featuring Kaya Thomas-Dyke – Wallflower (Dan Kye Edit) [White Label]
K15 – Starburst [Eglo Records]
K15 – Sunbeams [Eglo]
Kaidi Tatham – Hard Times [First Word]
Kaidi Tatham – We All Breathe The Same Air [First Word]
Kaoru Akimoto – Dress Down [Victor]
Kevin Mahogany – All Blues [Enja Records]
Khaled Kurbeh & Ramen Khalaf – Baseet [Between Buttons]
Khruangbin – Friday Morning [Night Time Stories]
Knxwledge. – illimination_ [Unknown]
Knxwledge. – KntKomplain. [Unknown]
Kokoroko – Abusey Junction [Brownswood]
Krust – Concealing Treachery [31 Recordings]
Lachlan McFeely Bolt – March [Astral Black]
Louie Vega – Because We Love It [Vega Records]
Louie Vega – Music & Life (The Anane Ritual Remix) [Vega Records]
Louie Vega Feat. Telmary Dub – The World Is A Family [Vega Records]
Maisha – Inside The Acorn [Brownswood]
Makaya McCraven – 5/5 Of A God [International Anthem]
Matthewdavid – Secret Rooms of Tokyo [Leaving Records]
Medeski, Martin & Wood – Hermeto’s Daydream [Accurate Records]
Mike Westbrook feat. Norma Winston – Will You Walk A Little Faster [Deram]
Miles Davis & John Coltrane – Fran Dance [Dragon]
Moresounds – We A Tribe [Dub Stuy]
Mose Allison – Seventh Son [Prestige]
Mr Mitch feat. P Money – Priority (Mark Force Remix)
Native Dancer – Love [Submit Records]
Natural Wild – Hot & Sexable [Feral Records]
Nebraska – Big Plate Chicken (Alma Negra’s Blacksoul Remix) [Heist]
New World Generation – Mystical Planet [Now-Again Records]
New World Generation – New World Generation [Close Connections]
No Fixed Abode feat. Amen Ra – Blood Sketches [White Label]
Nostalgia 77 – Quiet Dawn (Bonobo Remix) [Tru Thoughts]
Onra – Let Me Fantasize [All City Records]
Onyx Collective – Steam Rooms [Big Dada]
Pacific Yew – (((( Bonsai )))) [White Label]
Pacific Yew – (((( Japonica )))) [White Label]
Pacific Yew – (((( Pearl Village )))) [White Label]
Pacific Yew – (((( Young Vines )))) [White Label]
Paolo Mantini – Next Generation (Shield Re-Edit) [Rebirth]
Paternoster – The Pope Is Wrong [CBS]
Penya – Beat Your Demon [On The Corner Records]
Penya – Tribes [On The Corner Records]
Peter Croce – Get Up and Boogie [Razor N Tape]
Pharoah Sanders – Elevation [Impulse!]
Prequel – Freedom [Local Talk]
Prequel – Lefty [Rhythm Section International]
Ras G – Global Shit-uation [Dub Stuy]
RudeBoyz ft T_D Snaxx – sjableni [White Label]
Ryan Porter – Obamanomics [World Galaxy / Alpha Pup Records]
Shabaka Hutchings – Black Skin, Black Masks [Brownswood]
Shama Rahman – In My Line Of Sight [GHD]
Shea Face feat. SoSoon – Konkrete Big Apple (Ashley Beedle’s North Street Vocal Remix) [White Lettuce]
slowthai – Polar bear [Bone Soda]
slowthai – Round&Round [Bone Soda]
Sons Of Kemet – The Long Night Of Octavia Butler [Naim]
Subdued – Oscar Jerome [Brownswood]
Sufjan Stevens – Visions of Gideon [Masterworks]
T. Rex – Golden Belt (Outtake) [T-Rex]
Takeo Moriyama Quartet – North Wind [Union Records]
Talib Kweli (Ft. Anderson .Paak) – Traveling Light [White Label]
Tenderlonious – Funky Buddha [22a]
The Comet Is Coming – Cosmic Serpent [Leaf]
The Spirit Of Atlanta – Messin’ Around [Buddah Records]
Theo Parrish – A Preacher’s Comin [Filth]
Timothy McNealy – KC Stomp [BMI]
Tiombe Lockhart – Garden of Eden [White Label]
Tiombe Lockhart – The Gateless Gate [White Label]
Tony Burkill – Out Of A Shooting Star [ATA]
Tony Burkill – Third Of All Numbers [ATA]
Toshio Matsuura Group – I Am The Black Gold Of The Sun [White Label]
Triforce – Walls [Brownswood]
Ty – Groovement, Pt. 1 [Big Dada Hates Me]
Ty – Somehow Somewhere Someway [Jazz Re:Freshed]
Vels Trio – Yellow Ochre, Pt. 2 [Total Refreshment]
War – Chase (Mike Dunn’s Retouch) [White Label]
Washed Out – Floating By (Mndsgn Remix) [Stones Throw Records]
XOA & Contours – Too Much Talking [Unknown]
Y-Bayani & Baby Naa – Rehwe Mie Enyim [Philophon]
Yazz Ahmed – Inhale [Naim]
Yazz Ahmed – Jamil Jamal [Naim]
Yellow Days – The Tree I Climb (feat. Nick Walters) [White Label]
Zara McFarlane – Peace Begins Within [Brownswood]

Other Posts