now playing Gilles Peterson: Jon Hendricks Tribute

Worldwide FM Upfront Playlist: March 2017

Smashed Vinyl

The Worldwide FM Upfront Playlist is a carefully curated run-down of Gilles’ favourite new music. While Gilles’ Top 10 show reminisces on some favourite moments, the Upfront Playlist looks forward to the tacks that’ll make an impact in the month ahead.

Catch these tracks on rotation in the hour before and after our daily live broadcasts, 9-10AM and 6-7PM on weekdays. Sample some of the music from our Spotify playlist below, listen on Soundcloud or grab the full list at the bottom.

To keep up to date with future Upfront Playlists, follow us on Spotify and Soundcloud.


On the Upfront Playlist this month:

[List in alphabetical order, according to artist name]

Artist – Track [Label] // Country

A Tribe Called Quest – Solid Wall Of Sound [Epic] // US
Actress – X22RME [Ninja Tune] // UK
Ahmad Jamal – Stolen Moments [Impulse] // US
Alice Coltrane – Om Shanti [Avatar Book Institute] // US
Amp Fiddler – No Politics Feat Neko Red [Mahogani Music] // US
Andy Mac – 10 [Idle Hands] // UK
Arnaldo – Ceramics [Naturist] // Germany
Arnold Blair – Finally Made It Home [Super Disco Edits] // UK
Arnold Blair – Is It Really Love [White Label] // UK
Awanto 3 – This Is When We Met [Dekmantel] // Netherlands
Azymuth – May I Have This Dance (Arrop Roy Rework) [White Label] // UK
Badbadnotgood – Lavender (Nightfall Remix) ft. Kaytranada & Snoop Dogg [Innovative Leisure] // US
Billy Green and His Love Machine – Tubular Bells (Theme from The Exorcist) [EMI] // US
Blood Wine or Honey – Anxious Party People [Plastic Pagan] // Hong Kong
Blood Wine or Honey – The Forest Is Expecting [Plastic Pagan] // Hong Kong
Bottle Tree – Another Other [White Label] // US
Broadstrokes – Clean [White] // UK
Bunny Wailer – Black Heart Man [Island] // UK
Chaos in the CBD – Accidental Meetings [In Dust We Trust] // UK
Collocutor – Disappearance [On The Corner] // UK
Dave Valentin – Cinnamon & Clove [Arista] // US
Dayme Arocena – Negra Caridad [Brownswood] // UK
Dionne Warwick – Walk The Way You Talk [Scepter Records]// US
Dirty Projectors – Up In Hudson [Domino] // UK
Earth Wind and Fire – Brazilian Rhyme [Athens of The North] // US
El Michels Affair – Iron Man [Big Crown Records] // US
El Michels Affair – Tearz [Big Crown Records] //  US
Electric Wire Hustle – Aeons [Bastard Jazz] // New Zealand
Elusive – Annica [Alpha Pup] // US
Emanative – Ominous Shanti [White Label] // UK
Ennanga Vision – Otims War [Soundway] // UK
Ennanga Vision – Killing Ghosts [Soundway] // UK
Esa & Narch Beats – Blast Ft Pendo Zawose [White] // South Africa
Eye – Eye [White]  // Unknown
Filum Shaark – The Last Common Sense [White Label]
Flume – Weekend ft. Moses Sumney [Future Classic] // Australia
Focus – Hay-Hay [Crown Ruler] // Australia
Freddie Hubbard – Little Sunflower [Columbia] // US
Gabriel Garzon-Montano – Cantiga [Stone’s Throw] // US
Gabriel Garzon-Montano – Fruitflies [Stone’s Throw] // US
Galliano – Twyford Down [Talking Loud] // UK
Ganga Kru – Super Sharp Shooter [Parousia] // UK
Hector Plimmer – Eastern System [Albert’s Favourites]  // UK
Hector Plimmer and Drahla – Kalimba [Albert’s Favourites]  // UK
Heralds of Change – Spotted [All City] // Ireland
Horace Parlan – Congalegre [Blue Note] // US
Inga – Less But Better [White] // US
Ishi Vu – Is This Love [Studio Barnhus] // Sweden
Jackie Wilson – This Love is Real [Brunswick] // US
Jaco Pastorius – John and Mary [Warner Brothers] // US
Jaimeo Brown – Safflower [Motema Music] // US
Jeb Loy Nichols – Never Too Much [City Country City] // US
John Coltrane – The Sun [Coltrane Recording Corporation] // US Johnny One Drop – Travelings [X Project Remix) [White] // UK Kelsey Lu – Dreams [True Panther Sounds] // US
Kenny Burrell – Midnight Blue [Blue Note] // US
Kyoto Jazz Sextet – We Are One [White Label] // Japan
Laura Marling – Soothing [More Alarming] // UK
Leon Ware – I Want You (Him & Piano Live Recording) [White Label] // US
Leon Ware – Why I Came To California [Warner] // US
Leroy Hutson – Cool Out [Curtom] // US
Lord Echo ft Mara TK – Just Do You [Soundway] // New Zealand
Los Pirañas – La Diversion Que Hacia Falta En Mi Pais [Miscellaneous Discográfica] // Colombia
Maria Rita – Lamento Africano [Acorde] // Brazil
Matt Martians – Alotta Women / Useless ft Karl Faux [Three Quarter] // US
Modern Life Is Rubbish – Mania [White]
Mystica Tribe – New Beginnings [Silent Season] // Japan
Nao – DYWM [Sony] // UK
Nicholas Britell – The Middle Of The World [Lakeshore] // US
Niels Broos – With Y [Alphapup] // Netherlands 
Ossie – Wires [Super Cali] // UK
Objekt – Needle and Thread [White] // Germany
Omar [Ft Ty & Robert Glasper] – Vicky’s Tune (Freestyle) // UK
Oumou Sangare – Kun Fe Ko [World Circuit] // Mali
P.Jam – Calm Ft Hannah Rae & Capo Lee [White] // UK
Peter Vogel and his Band – Mrs Sunshine [Meilton] // Germany
Philip Lassiter – Cheers 2 Life [Independent] // UK
Photek – In the 90s [Metalheadz] // US
Red Rack’em – Mad House [Bergerac] // UK
Sam Gellaitry – Jungle Waters [XL] // UK
Sampha – Kora Sings [Young Turks] // UK
Sango – Dance For Blessings [Last Gang] // US
Scott Xylo – Mothership Connekt [Bandcamp Download] // UK
Sega Bodega – CC (ft Shygirl) [Crazylegs] // UK
Sherwood & Pinch – Jazzy Jeff Cakes [On U Sound/Tectonic] // UK
Sjob Movement – Love Affair [EMI] // Nigeria
Skinny Pelembe – Should You Go (Skinny’s Echo Mix) [White] // UK
Spank – Love Sample [Bandcamp] // US
Stagga & Magugu – Back It Up [Fat Fridge] // UK
Stagga & Magugu – Back It Up [White Label] // UK
Stuff – Strata [Sdban Records] // Belgium
Sunny And the Sunliners – My Dream [RPR] // US
Superpoze – For We The Living [Combien Mille Records] // UK
Tanzania Soundsystem – Msichana [Highlife] // Tanzania
The Blackbyrds – Gotta Fly [K-Wesindi Records] // US
The Lightmen Plus One – All Praises To Allah (Parts 1 and 2) [Jazzman] // US
The Pendletons – Gotta Get Out [Voltaire] // US
Thundercat – Friend Zone [Brainfeeder] // US
Thundercat – Uh Uh [Brianfeeder] // US
Thundercat – Walk On By (Feat Kendrick Lamar) [Brainfeeder] // US
Tommy McGee – Now That I Have You [TMG] // US
Tony Allen – Moanin’ [Blue Note] // Nigeria
Vex Ruffin Ft Fab 5 Freddy – The Balance (Peaking Lights Rmx) [Stone’s Throw] // US
Wojtek Mazolewski – Theme De Yoyo [Lanquidity Rec] // Poland
Yusef Lateef – Morning [Jazzman] // US

Other Posts