Gilles Peterson & Shuya Okino (Kyoto Jazz Massive) // 27-11-19

Gilles Peterson sits down with Shuya Okino from Kyoto Jazz Massive. As a DJ, producer, club owner, and author, Shuya is a leading figure in Japanese club culture and his conversation with Gilles traces the origins of his career. As Shuya celebrates his 30th year in music, he marks the occasion with a very special performance at Dingwalls on 1st December 2019. The interview is accompanied by Shuya’s own musical selection, taking on his influences as well as tracks from some of his many musical projects including Mondo Grosso, Monday Michiru, Sleep Walker, Cosmic Village, Hajime Yoshizawa, DJ Kawasaki, Root Soul, Mano Arriba. Tracklist:

Kyoto Jazz Sextet - Peaceful Wind [Blue Note Records]
Cosmic Village - Starseed [For Life Music]
Kyoto Jazz Sextet - Mission [Blue Note Records]
Sleep Walker Ft Pharaoh Sanders - The Voyage [Village Again Association]
Bobby Hutcherson - Montara [Blue Note Records]
Terumasa Hino - Send Me Your Feelings [Flying Disc]
Manhattan Focus - Mixed Roots [Unknown]
Yellow magic Orchestra - Fire Cracker [Alfa Records]
Hajime Yoshizawa ft Jason - Waltz For Jason [Geneon Entertainment]
Sleep Walker - Ai-No-Kawa [KSR]
Wayne Shorter - Mr. Jin [Blue Note Records]
Jon Lucien - Listen Love [RCA Records]
Cosmic Village - Astral Circulation [Forli]
Root Soul - Always feat.Erik Rico (45 Edit) [Juno Records]
Mondo Grosso - Souffles H (Souffle Your Wig) [For Life Music]
Cosmic Village - Perfect Emotion [For Life Music]
DJ Kawasaki - Alive feat.Shea Soul (Kon's Higher Love Mix) [White Label]
Hajime Yoshizawa - The Color Of Peace [Village Again]
Teruo Nakamura - Umma Be Me [Three Blind Mice]
Airto & Flora Purim - Samba De Flora [Soul Jazz]

Worldwide FM Chat