Shabaka Hutchings with Tom Skinner, Dave Okumu and Tom Herbert // 11-03-20

Monthly show from London jazz virtuoso Shabaka Hutchings. The Sons of Kemet saxophonist presents two hours of music from his record bag, ranging from his trusted favourites to new and rare finds. On this month's show, Shabaka is joined by Tom Skinner on drums, Tom Herbert on bass and Dave Okumu on guitar in the studio for a live session and a chat. Tracklist:

Thomas Mapfumo - Mhondoro [Water]
Sakhile Moleshe - Naga (The Land) ft. Izithunywa Zohlanga & Kgafela Oa Magogodi [Imilozi Music]
Nasheet Waits - King Hassan [Fresh Sound Records]
Sibusile Xaba - Uyahlupha [Komos]
Hello Skinny - Remember [slowfoot]
Shabaka and the Ancestors - They Who Must Die [Impulse!]
Bokani Dyer - Fanfare [Dyertribe]
Ted Poor - To Rome [Impulse!]
Billy Woods Kenny Segal - Underground Rap [Backwoodz Studioz]
Obongjayar - Dreaming in Transit [Obongjayar]
Fugees - Vocab (Salaam's Remix) [Ruffhouse Records]
Richard Spaven - Rockers Round Window [Jazz Refreshed]
// Shabaka & OHS Trio Live Session //
Hidden place
Pagan poetry
McCoy Tyner - Peresina [BMG]

Worldwide FM Chat